The Power of Music: Shostakovich's Leningrad Symphony

Shostakovich Symphony 7 Best Recording on February 2020 Shopping Deals at

  • Shostakovich: Symphony Nos. 1 & 7

    • UPC: 028947775874
    • Manufacturer: Dg Imports


  • Dmitir Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 11 `The Year 1905

    • UPC: 028948352203
    • Brand: Deutsche Grammophon
    • Manufacturer: Deutsche Grammophon


  • Mahler: The Complete Symphonies

    • UPC: 797803081793
    • Manufacturer: Sony Import

    Brand New

  • Shostakovich: The Complete Symphonies - Mariss Jansons (10 CD)

    • UPC: 094636530024
    • Manufacturer: Warner Classics

    No Description Available.Genre: Classical MusicMedia Format: Compact DiskRating: Release Date: 12-SEP-2006

  • Shostakovich: Complete Symphonies

    • UPC: 889253372207
    • Brand: Sante
    • Manufacturer: Brilliant Classics

    The Complete Symphonies - Shostakovich's music is the music of 20th century Russia, from the turbulent Revolution, through the horrors of war to the communistic repression. It is the cry of a soul in torment, expressing grief, despair in a highly personal way, through irony or bitter truth. The symphonies span Shostakovich's whole life, and form a ... [read more]

  • Yo-Yo Ma Plays Concertos, Sonatas An D Suites

    • UPC: 887654385727
    • Brand: Sony Masterworks
    • Manufacturer: Sony

    - German pressings of the immense Sony Classical Masters Catalog in smart, desirable and collectible multi-disc editions - The Sony catalog is replete with legendary artists and many of the greatest recordings of the classical repertoire - Box fronts feature large, prominently displayed photo of the featured artist - Slender, shelf-friendly boxes; ... [read more]

  • Living Stereo - The Remastered Collector's Edition

    • UPC: 889853217427
    • Brand: Sony Classics
    • Manufacturer: Sony Classical

    ~ The ultimate “Living Stereo” Collector’s Edition – A celebration of high-fidelity analogue recording ~ All 60 CDs newly remastered from the original 2- and 3-track master tapes using 24 bit / 192 kHz technology ~ First ever release of 48 “Living Stereo” LPs on CD ~ Hardcover bound book with a new introduction by discographer Michael ... [read more]

  • Leonard Bernstein - The Pianist Leonard Bernstein

    • UPC: 889854837921
    • Brand: SOOAN
    • Manufacturer: Sony Classical

    Sony Classical celebrates the 2018 centenary of Leonard Bernstein - one of the 20th century's most celebrated, multi-faceted and influential musicians - with a box set devoted to his complete RCA Victor and Columbia Masterworks recordings as pianist. All recordings in this 11 CDs original jacket collection have been newly remastered from the origin... [read more]

  • Wood Works

    • UPC: 636943608128
    • Brand: Da Capo
    • Manufacturer: Dacapo Classical

    The Danish String Quartet, at present the house quartet at both New York's Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society and BBC Radio 3, are taking the plunge as folk musicians with their new album on Denmarks national record label Dacapo, Wood Works. Theyre riding a wave of international success with classical quartet playing in the worlds leading concert... [read more]

  • Symphony 7

    • UPC: 028947084525
    • Manufacturer: Philips

    Shostakovich's "Leningrad" Symphony has been surrounded by controversy ever since it was written; it even ignited a battle between two great conductors, Toscanini and Stokowski, for the first American performance (Toscanini won). Composed in 1941 during the siege of Leningrad in homage to the Russian people's heroic resistance against the German in... [read more]

  • Bernstein Conducts Shostakovich Leningrad Symphony No. 7/ New York Philharmonic

    • Manufacturer: Columbia Masterworks M2S 722 Stereo

    Bernstein Conducts Shostakovich Leningrad Symphony No. 7/ New York Philharmonic. Columbia Masterworks M2S 722 Stereo

  • Emil Gilels - The Complete RCA and Columbia Album Collection

    • UPC: 888751773127
    • Brand: Sony Classics
    • Manufacturer: Sony Classical

    Among the first Soviet musicians allowed to travel in the West, Emil Gilels s American debut on October 3, 1955, with Eugene Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra caused a sensation. Later that month, Gilels recorded his best-selling collaboration with Fritz Reiner and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in Tchaikovsky s First Piano Concerto. Subsequen... [read more]

  • Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 7, 9, & 10 - Adagio (Royal Edition No. 50)

    • UPC: 074644758528
    • Manufacturer: Sony

  • Symphony No. 7 Leningrad

    • Manufacturer: Halle

    Following unparalleled success with recordings for orchestra and choir, including awards in recent years from both Gramophone andBBC Music Magazine, the Hallé and Sir Mark Elder present the timely release of a stunning live recording of one of the most iconicworks of the symphonic repertoire.

  • Shostakovich: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 8

    • UPC: 743215345725
    • Brand: Melodiya Record Company Europe
    • Manufacturer: Bmg

    Used CD

  • The Seattle Recital (Beethoven/Chopin/Debussy/Prokofiev)

    • UPC: 028947962885
    • Brand: Deutsche Grammophon
    • Manufacturer: Deutsche Grammophon

    Previously-unreleased recording of Emil Gilels, the 100th anniversary of whose birth falls October 2016, captured live in an acclaimed 1964 Seattle recital.On 6 December 1964 the great Emil Gilels gave a tempestuously acclaimed recital at the Seattle Opera. The concert was recorded live for private purposes but with professional equipment. With the... [read more]

  • Celibidache Conducts: Leningrad Symphony

    • UPC: 723724111721
    • Manufacturer: Classica D'oro

  • Shostakovich: Symphony No. 11- The Year 1905

    • UPC: 747313208272
    • Brand: NAXOS
    • Manufacturer: Naxos

    Charismatic young conductorVasily Petrenko launches hisShostakovich Symphonies serieswith the Eleventh , a highlycharged depiction of the 'BloodySunday' massacre of over twohundred peaceful demonstratorsby Czarist soldiers outside theWinter Palace in St Petersburgin 1905. Scored for a sizeableorchestra of triple woodwind,four horns, three each oftr... [read more]

  • Masters of Strings / Various

    • Manufacturer: Imports

    Huge 10 CD box set comprised of all the classic's by the Masters of Strings Yehudi Menuhin, Bronislaw Heberman, George Enescu, Joseph Szigeti, Nathan Milstein, Jascha Heifetz, Fritz Kreisler, David Oistrakh & Isaac Stern. Membran. 2005.

  • Sibelius: The Symphonies / Tone Poems / Violin Concerto

    • Manufacturer: Decca

  • The Power of Music: Shostakovich's Leningrad Symphony

    Dmitri Shostakovich - Symphony No. 7 "Leningrad"

    Shostakovich plays a fragment of his 7th symphony (1941)